Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus (P2425H)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with Pro 24 Plus (P2425H)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)DellPro 24 Plus (P2425H)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002March 2024
Display
Screen size23″23.8″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)1920 × 1080 (Full HD)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch (better)93 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–100 Hz
Response time (grey to grey)–5 ms
Brightness (typical)200 nits250 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,500:1
Colour range–99% sRGB
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth16.7 million colours
sRGB coverage–99%
Response time detail–5 ms (Fast), 8 ms (Normal) grey to grey
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontal, 178° vertical (typical)
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.2745 mm x 0.2745 mm (93 ppi)
Eye care–ComfortView Plus hardware low blue light (TÜV Rheinland Category 2); TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (4 star); flicker-free
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorHDMI 1.4, DisplayPort 1.2
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-AUSB-C, 3 × USB-A
Ethernet–No
SpeakersNoNo
HDMI detail–1 x HDMI 1.4 (HDCP 1.4), up to 1920 x 1080 at 100 Hz
DisplayPort detail–1 x DisplayPort 1.2 (HDCP 1.4), up to 1920 x 1080 at 100 Hz; also 1 x VGA, up to 1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubUSB 5Gbps; 1 x USB-B upstream; 2 x USB-A rear; quick access 1 x USB-A and 1 x USB-C (up to 15 W)
Design
Stand adjustsTiltHeight, tilt, swivel, pivot (better)
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg4.98 kg
Height adjustment–150 mm
Tilt–-5° to 21°
Swivel–-45° to 45°
Pivot–-90° to 90°
VESA pattern–100 x 100 mm
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)538.64 x 181.75 x 364–496.53 mm (W x D x H)
Size without stand–538.64 x 50.03 x 314.23 mm (W x D x H)
Weight without stand–3.12 kg
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel–
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less11.7 W on mode, 0.3 W standby, 0.3 W off, 65 W maximum
Energy class–C
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 1.5 A (typical)
Certifications–TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (4 star), TÜV Rheinland hardware low blue light (Category 2)
In the box–Stand, power cable, DisplayPort 1.2 cable (1.8 m), HDMI 1.4 cable (1.8 m, selected countries only), USB-A to USB-B 5Gbps cable (1.8 m)
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.–

More comparisons