Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) | DellPro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | April 2002 | March 2024 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 23″ | 23.8″ |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better) | 1920 × 1080 (Full HD) |
| Sharpness | 98 pixels per inch (better) | 93 pixels per inch |
| Panel | IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet) | IPS |
| Refresh rate | – | 100 Hz |
| Response time (grey to grey) | – | 5 ms |
| Brightness (typical) | 200 nits | 250 nits (better) |
| Contrast ratio | 350:1 | 1,500:1 |
| Colour range | – | 99% sRGB |
| Screen finish | Matte | Matte |
| Shape | Flat | Flat |
| Colour depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth | 16.7 million colours |
| sRGB coverage | – | 99% |
| Response time detail | – | 5 ms (Fast), 8 ms (Normal) |
| Variable refresh range | – | 48–100 Hz (vertical scan range) |
| Viewing angles | Apple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically | 178° horizontal, 178° vertical (typical) |
| Pixel pitch | 0.258 mm | 0.2745 mm x 0.2745 mm |
| Eye care | – | ComfortView Plus hardware low blue light (TÜV Rheinland Category 2); TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (4 star); flicker-free |
| Connections | ||
| Video inputs | Apple Display Connector | HDMI 1.4, DisplayPort 1.4, USB-C |
| USB-C charging | None | Up to 90 W (better) |
| USB ports | 2 × USB-A | USB-C, 3 × USB-A |
| Ethernet | – | Yes |
| Speakers | No | No |
| HDMI detail | – | 1 x HDMI 1.4 (HDCP 1.4), up to 1920 x 1080 at 100 Hz |
| DisplayPort detail | – | 1 x DisplayPort 1.4 in (HDCP 1.4); 1 x DisplayPort out with MST |
| USB-C detail | – | USB-C 5Gbps upstream (DisplayPort 1.4 Alt Mode, Power Delivery up to 90 W); 1 x USB-C 5Gbps downstream quick-access port (5 V/3 A) |
| Daisy chaining | – | DisplayPort out (MST) |
| Other connections | Captive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac | – |
| USB hub detail | Two-port self-powered USB hub | USB 5Gbps; 2 x USB-A rear; quick access ports with 1 x USB-A and 1 x USB-C (5 V/3 A) |
| Design | ||
| Stand adjusts | Tilt | Height, tilt, swivel, pivot (better) |
| VESA mount | No | Yes |
| Weight with stand | 11.5 kg | 5.44 kg |
| Height adjustment | – | 150 mm |
| Tilt | – | -5° to 21° |
| Swivel | – | -45° to 45° |
| Pivot | – | -90° to 90° |
| VESA pattern | – | 100 x 100 mm |
| Size with stand | 614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth) | 538.64 x 181.75 x 364–496.53 mm (W x D x H) |
| Size without stand | – | 538.64 x 50.03 x 314.23 mm (W x D x H) |
| Weight without stand | – | 3.69 kg |
| Controls | System power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control | – |
| Colours | Crystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel | – |
| Power and support | ||
| Power use | Maximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less | 13.9 W on mode, 0.3 W standby, 1.0 W networked standby, 0.3 W off, 180 W maximum |
| Energy class | – | D |
| Power supply | 24.5–28 V DC through ADC | 100–240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 2 A (typical) |
| Certifications | – | TÜV Rheinland Eye Comfort 3.0 (4 star), TÜV Rheinland hardware low blue light (Category 2) |
| In the box | – | Stand, power cable, DisplayPort 1.4 cable (1.8 m), USB-C 3.2 Gen 2 cable (1 m), cable tie |
| Software | Mac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row. | – |
More comparisons
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs BenQ ZOWIE XQ2566X
- Dell Pro 24 Adjustable Stand Monitor with Speakers (E2426HS) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
- Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2426H) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
- Dell Pro 27 Monitor (E2726H) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2426H)
- Dell Pro 24 Video Conferencing Monitor (E2426HB) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro P 24 16:10 USB-C Hub (P2426E)
- Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE) vs Dell Pro P 24 (P2426H)
- Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE) vs Dell Pro P 24 16:10 USB-C Hub (P2426E)
- Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE) vs Dell Pro P 24 USB-C Hub (P2426HE)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell 24 240Hz Monitor (SE2426HG)
- Dell Pro 27 Adjustable Stand Monitor (E2726HS) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Alienware 25 320Hz (AW2525HM)
- Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2425HM) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2425HM)

