Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI)
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) | AppleCinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | April 2002 | October 2004 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 23″ | 29.7″ |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) | 2560 × 1600 (WQXGA) (better) |
| Sharpness | 98 pixels per inch | 102 pixels per inch (better) |
| Panel | IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet) | IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple June 2004 Technology Overview); S-IPS identification from PRAD’s exact aluminium 30-inch datasheet. Main brightness and contrast describe the original published generation.) |
| Refresh rate | – | 60 Hz |
| Brightness (typical) | 200 nits | 270 nits (better) |
| Contrast ratio | 350:1 | 400:1 |
| Screen finish | Matte | Matte |
| Shape | Flat | Flat |
| Colour depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth | Up to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth |
| Response time detail | – | Original June 2004 Apple Technology Overview specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions, so main grey-to-grey response is omitted. Original brightness is 270 cd/m² and contrast 400:1. Archived support table later gives 400 cd/m² and 400:1; Japanese specifications give 400 cd/m², 700:1 and 14 ms. These later figures are not substituted into the original main fields. |
| Viewing angles | Apple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically | Original archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°. |
| Pixel pitch | 0.258 mm | 0.250 mm |
| Connections | ||
| Video inputs | Apple Display Connector | DVI |
| USB-C charging | None | None |
| USB ports | 2 × USB-A | 2 × USB-A |
| Speakers | No | – |
| Other connections | Captive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac | Captive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slot |
| USB hub detail | Two-port self-powered USB hub | Two-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computer |
| Design | ||
| Stand adjusts | Tilt | Tilt |
| VESA mount | No | Yes |
| Weight with stand | 11.5 kg | 12.5 kg |
| VESA pattern | – | Optional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 C |
| Size with stand | 614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth) | 688 × 543 × 215 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specifications |
| Controls | System power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control | Side power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferences |
| Colours | Crystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel | Aluminium enclosure |
| Power and support | ||
| Power use | Maximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less | Maximum 150 W; energy saver mode 3 W or less |
| Power supply | 24.5–28 V DC through ADC | External A1098 150 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC output |
| Software | Mac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row. | Apple's June 2004 UK press release promised August sale, but delivery slipped into autumn (Computerworld/Macworld). Main release month follows MacRumors' October 2004 shipping report. At launch Apple specified Power Mac G5 with NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL for native resolution; a dual-link DVI graphics connection is required. Original manual explicitly specifies 2560 × 1600 at 60 Hz and 29.7-inch viewable diagonal. Main weight follows June 2004 maker Technology Overview (12.5 kg); original manual gives 12.31 kg and archived support table 12.47 kg. No basis for the discrepancies is stated. |
| In the box | – | Display with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning cloth |
More comparisons
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs BenQ ZOWIE XQ2566X
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2426H)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) vs Apple Studio Display (2026)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) vs Apple Studio Display XDR
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro P 24 16:10 USB-C Hub (P2426E)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell 24 240Hz Monitor (SE2426HG)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Alienware 25 320Hz (AW2525HM)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Monitor (E2425HM)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus QHD USB-C Hub (P2425DE)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus (P2425H)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Pro 24 Plus USB-C Hub (P2425HE)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Alienware 500Hz (AW2524HF)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) vs Apple Studio Display (2022)
- Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell UltraSharp U2414H
- Apple Cinema HD Display (30-inch, DVI) vs Dell UltraSharp U2713H

