Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell Alienware 500Hz (AW2524HF)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with Alienware 500Hz (AW2524HF)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)DellAlienware 500Hz (AW2524HF)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002September 2023
Display
Screen size23″24.5″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)1920 × 1080 (Full HD)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch (better)90 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS (Fast IPS)
Refresh rate–500 Hz
Response time (grey to grey)–0.5 ms
Brightness (typical)200 nits400 nits (better)
HDR formats–HDR10
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Colour range–99% sRGB
Colour accuracy (Delta E)–Below 1.5
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Adaptive sync–FreeSync Premium, VESA AdaptiveSync, HDMI VRR
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth1.07 billion colours
sRGB coverage–99%
Colour accuracy–ΔE2000 < 1.5 (average) in the sRGB preset mode
Colour modes–FPS, MOBA/RTS, RPG, Sports, three custom game modes, sRGB
HDR detail–HDR10
Response time detail–0.5 ms grey-to-grey minimum, 1 ms most observed (Extreme); 2 ms (Super Fast); 3 ms (Fast)
Variable refresh range–48–480 Hz over DisplayPort (500 Hz overclocked); 48–255 Hz over HDMI (vertical scan range)
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontal, 178° vertical (typical)
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.2832 mm x 0.2802 mm (90 ppi)
Eye care–ComfortView Plus hardware low blue light (TÜV Rheinland hardware solution); flicker-free
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorHDMI 2.1, 2 × DisplayPort 1.4
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A4 × USB-A
Ethernet–No
SpeakersNoNo
HDMI detail–1 x HDMI 2.1 (HDCP 1.4), up to 1920 x 1080 at 255 Hz (TMDS) with HDR and VRR
DisplayPort detail–2 x DisplayPort 1.4 (HDCP 1.4), up to 1920 x 1080 at 500 Hz with HDR and VRR
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubUSB 5Gbps; 1 x USB-B upstream; 2 x USB-A rear; 2 x USB-A bottom (one with BC1.2 charging)
Design
Stand adjustsTiltHeight, tilt, swivel, pivot (better)
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg6.01 kg
Height adjustment–110 mm
Tilt–-5° to 21°
Swivel–-20° to 20°
Pivot–-90° to 90°
VESA pattern–100 x 100 mm
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)555.14 x 243.71 x 390.51–500.51 mm (W x D x H)
Size without stand–555.14 x 84 x 328.86 mm (W x D x H)
Weight without stand–3.65 kg
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelDark grey
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less18.5 W on mode, 0.5 W standby, 0.3 W off, 74 W maximum
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 1.2 A
Certifications–AMD FreeSync Premium, VESA AdaptiveSync Display, TÜV Rheinland hardware low blue light
Warranty–3 years limited with Advanced Exchange Service and Premium Panel Exchange (US)
In the box–Stand, power cable, DisplayPort 1.4 cable (1.8 m), USB-C to DisplayPort 1.4 cable (1 m), USB-A to USB-B 5Gbps cable (1.8 m), Alienware sticker
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.–

More comparisons