CUPRA Formentor vs Omoda Omoda 5
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| CUPRAFormentor | OmodaOmoda 5 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | July 2024 | August 2024 |
| Performance | ||
| Powertrain | Petrol, Mild hybrid, Plug-in hybrid | Petrol, Hybrid, Electric |
| Power | 148–385 bhp (better) | 145–221 bhp |
| 0–62 mph | 4.2–9 s (better) | 7.2–10.1 s |
| Top speed | 127–174 mph (better) | 106–121 mph |
| Engine or motors | 1.5-litre four-cylinder TSI (150 PS; eTSI with mild hybrid), 1.5 e-HYBRID plug-in hybrid (204 or 272 PS system output), 2.0-litre TSI (265 or 333 PS; CUPRA's July 2026 price list offers the 265 PS from stock only, not for new factory orders), 2.5-litre five-cylinder TSI (390 PS, VZ5); bhp converted from CUPRA's PS figures | 1.6-litre turbo petrol, 147 PS; 1.5-litre turbo petrol full hybrid (SHS-H) with two electric motors and a 1.8 kWh battery, 224 PS; E5 electric motor, 211 PS; bhp converted from PS |
| Torque | 250 Nm (1.5 TSI/eTSI), 400 Nm system (e-HYBRID 272), 370 Nm (265 PS), 420 Nm (333 PS), 480 Nm (VZ5) | 275 Nm (petrol), 295 Nm (SHS-H), 288 Nm (E5) |
| Gearbox | 6-speed manual (1.5 TSI), 6-speed DSG (e-HYBRID) or 7-speed DSG | 7-speed dual-clutch automatic (petrol), 1-speed DHT (SHS-H), single-speed (E5) |
| Drive | Front-wheel drive; 4Drive four-wheel drive on 333 PS and VZ5 | Front-wheel drive |
| Range and charging | ||
| Zero-emission range (WLTP) | 72–77 miles | 267 miles (better) |
| Economy (WLTP) | 28–201.8 mpg | – |
| Range detail | e-HYBRID WLTP electric range: 73–77 miles (204 PS), 72 miles (272 PS) | E5: 267 miles WLTP |
| Charging | e-HYBRID battery 25.8 kWh; 11 kW AC (0–100% in 2 h 30 min); DC 10–80% in 26 minutes on a 50 kW charger | E5: 61 kWh battery (usable capacity not stated); 30–80% DC charge in 28 minutes |
| Efficiency | WLTP combined: 44.1–46.3 mpg (1.5 TSI), 44.8–47.1 mpg (eTSI), 176.6–201.8 mpg (e-HYBRID 204), 166.2–176.6 mpg (e-HYBRID 272), 35.3–36.2 mpg (265 PS), 31.7–32.8 mpg (333 PS), 27.7–28.0 mpg (VZ5) | Maker-quoted fuel economy: 31.1 mpg (petrol), 52.2 mpg (SHS-H); test cycle not stated |
| CO2 emissions | 135–142 g/km (1.5 TSI/eTSI), 32–37 g/km (e-HYBRID), 177 g/km (265 PS), 194–199 g/km (333 PS), 230 g/km (VZ5), WLTP combined | 0–168 g/km (WLTP); 120 g/km for the SHS-H |
| Practicality | ||
| Body | Crossover | Crossover |
| Seats | 5 | 5 |
| Boot | 450 litres (better) | 380 litres |
| Length | 4,451 mm | 4,373 mm |
| Width | 1,839 mm | 1,824 mm |
| Weight | From 1,434 kg | – |
| Boot | 450 litres (TSI, eTSI, 265 PS), 345 litres (e-HYBRID), 420 litres (333 PS), 410 litres (VZ5) | 380 litres (petrol), 370 litres (SHS-H and E5) |
| Towing | – | SHS-H: 750 kg unbraked; not rated for the petrol or E5 |
| Size | 4,451 mm long, 1,839 mm wide, 1,511–1,537 mm high (VZ5 4,484 x 1,852 x 1,505 mm); kerb weight with driver from 1,434 kg (1.5 TSI) to 1,742 kg (e-HYBRID 272) | 4,373 mm long (4,447 mm SHS-H, 4,424 mm E5), 1,824 mm wide excluding mirrors (1,830 mm E5), 1,588 mm high; 2,610 mm wheelbase (2,630 mm E5); 140 mm ground clearance |
| Tech and safety | ||
| Driver assistance | – | 16 driver-assistance systems including adaptive cruise control, emergency lane keeping, blind spot indicator, driver monitoring, forward collision warning with autonomous emergency braking and rear cross traffic alert |
| Infotainment | 12.9-inch touchscreen | – |
| Warranty | 5 years or 90,000 miles (2 years unlimited mileage) | 7 years or 100,000 miles; 8 years for the E5 battery |

