Omoda Omoda 5 vs Toyota C-HR
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OmodaOmoda 5 | ToyotaC-HR | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | August 2024 | October 2023 |
| Performance | ||
| Powertrain | Petrol, Hybrid, Electric | Hybrid, Plug-in hybrid |
| Power | 145–221 bhp (better) | 138–220 bhp |
| 0–62 mph | 7.2–10.1 s (better) | 7.4–10.2 s |
| Top speed | 106–121 mph (better) | 106–112 mph |
| Engine or motors | 1.6-litre turbo petrol, 147 PS; 1.5-litre turbo petrol full hybrid (SHS-H) with two electric motors and a 1.8 kWh battery, 224 PS; E5 electric motor, 211 PS; bhp converted from PS | 1.8-litre four-cylinder petrol hybrid, 138 bhp (140 DIN hp, 103 kW) system output; 2.0-litre four-cylinder plug-in hybrid, 220 bhp (223 DIN hp, 164 kW) system output |
| Torque | 275 Nm (petrol), 295 Nm (SHS-H), 288 Nm (E5) | Engine 142 Nm (1.8) or 190 Nm (2.0); electric motor 185 Nm (1.8) or 208 Nm (2.0 PHEV) |
| Gearbox | 7-speed dual-clutch automatic (petrol), 1-speed DHT (SHS-H), single-speed (E5) | e-CVT automatic |
| Drive | Front-wheel drive | Front-wheel drive |
| Range and charging | ||
| Zero-emission range (WLTP) | 267 miles (better) | 41 miles |
| Economy (WLTP) | – | 60.1–353.1 mpg |
| Range detail | E5: 267 miles WLTP | Plug-in hybrid electric range up to 41 miles |
| Charging | E5: 61 kWh battery (usable capacity not stated); 30–80% DC charge in 28 minutes | Plug-in hybrid has a 13.6 kWh lithium-ion battery and a 6.6 kW on-board charger (0–100% in under 2 h 30 min on a wallbox with the optional three-phase cable) |
| Efficiency | Maker-quoted fuel economy: 31.1 mpg (petrol), 52.2 mpg (SHS-H); test cycle not stated | WLTP combined: from 60.1 mpg (1.8 hybrid), from 353.1 mpg (plug-in hybrid) |
| CO2 emissions | 0–168 g/km (WLTP); 120 g/km for the SHS-H | From 105 g/km (1.8 hybrid), from 19 g/km (plug-in hybrid) per Toyota's technical specification; the September 2026 price list gives 51–52 g/km for the plug-in hybrid |
| Practicality | ||
| Body | Crossover | Crossover |
| Seats | 5 | 5 |
| Boot | 380 litres | 388 litres (better) |
| Length | 4,373 mm | 4,362 mm |
| Width | 1,824 mm | 1,832 mm |
| Weight | – | From 1,430 kg |
| Boot | 380 litres (petrol), 370 litres (SHS-H and E5) | 388 litres (hybrid) or 310 litres (plug-in hybrid) to the tonneau cover |
| Towing | SHS-H: 750 kg unbraked; not rated for the petrol or E5 | 725 kg braked or unbraked |
| Size | 4,373 mm long (4,447 mm SHS-H, 4,424 mm E5), 1,824 mm wide excluding mirrors (1,830 mm E5), 1,588 mm high; 2,610 mm wheelbase (2,630 mm E5); 140 mm ground clearance | 4,362 mm long, 1,832 mm wide, 1,564 mm high; 2,640 mm wheelbase; 5.5 m turning radius (tyre); kerb weight 1,430–1,490 kg (hybrid), 1,645–1,695 kg (plug-in hybrid); drag coefficient 0.318 |
| Tech and safety | ||
| Infotainment | – | Eight-inch Toyota Smart Connect or 12.3-inch Toyota Smart Connect+ touchscreen; seven-inch or 12.3-inch digital driver's display; wireless charging tray |
| Driver assistance | 16 driver-assistance systems including adaptive cruise control, emergency lane keeping, blind spot indicator, driver monitoring, forward collision warning with autonomous emergency braking and rear cross traffic alert | – |
| Warranty | 7 years or 100,000 miles; 8 years for the E5 battery | – |
More comparisons
- Toyota C-HR vs Toyota C-HR+
- Omoda Omoda 5 vs Toyota Aygo X
- CUPRA Formentor vs Omoda Omoda 5
- Fiat Fiat 600 vs Omoda Omoda 5
- Omoda Omoda 5 vs Renault Scenic E-Tech electric
- Omoda Omoda 5 vs Peugeot Peugeot 408
- Kia Niro vs Omoda Omoda 5
- CUPRA Formentor vs Toyota C-HR
- Fiat Fiat 600 vs Toyota C-HR
- Peugeot Peugeot 408 vs Toyota C-HR
- Kia Niro vs Toyota C-HR
- Toyota C-HR vs Toyota C-HR (2016)
- Nissan Qashqai vs Toyota C-HR

