Kia Niro vs Omoda Omoda 5

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Niro compared with Omoda 5
KiaNiroOmodaOmoda 5
Overview
Released2022August 2024
Performance
PowertrainHybrid, Plug-in hybridPetrol, Hybrid, Electric
Power136–168 bhp145–221 bhp (better)
0–62 mph11.1 s7.2–10.1 s (better)
Top speed104 mph106–121 mph (better)
Engine or motors1.6 GDi four-cylinder petrol (1,580 cc) with an electric motor; hybrid 136 bhp with a 1.32 kWh battery, plug-in hybrid 168 bhp with an 11.1 kWh lithium-ion polymer battery and an 83 kW battery output; Kia does not state usable battery capacity1.6-litre turbo petrol, 147 PS; 1.5-litre turbo petrol full hybrid (SHS-H) with two electric motors and a 1.8 kWh battery, 224 PS; E5 electric motor, 211 PS; bhp converted from PS
Torque–275 Nm (petrol), 295 Nm (SHS-H), 288 Nm (E5)
Gearbox6-speed dual-clutch automatic7-speed dual-clutch automatic (petrol), 1-speed DHT (SHS-H), single-speed (E5)
DriveFront-wheel driveFront-wheel drive
Range and charging
Zero-emission range (WLTP)40 miles267 miles (better)
Economy (WLTP)353.1 mpg–
Range detailPlug-in hybrid: WLTP electric range 40 miles (grade 2) or 37 miles (grades 3 and 4). Kia UK gives the plug-in hybrid 0–60 mph in 9.6–9.8 seconds; Kia's MY26 hybrid specification gives 0–100 km/h in 11.1–11.4 secondsE5: 267 miles WLTP
ChargingPlug-in hybrid: Type 2, up to 3.3 kW AC; Kia UK gives 2 h 55 min from 15 to 95% charge; no DC chargingE5: 61 kWh battery (usable capacity not stated); 30–80% DC charge in 28 minutes
EfficiencyHybrid: Kia UK's earlier technical sheet gives 60.1–64.2 mpg WLTP combined across grades 2–4; current grade-specific UK figures are not on Kia's main spec page. Plug-in hybrid: weighted combined 353.1 mpg (grade 2), 313.9 mpg (grade 3), 282.5 mpg (grade 4)Maker-quoted fuel economy: 31.1 mpg (petrol), 52.2 mpg (SHS-H); test cycle not stated
CO2 emissions18–22 g/km weighted (plug-in hybrid), WLTP0–168 g/km (WLTP); 120 g/km for the SHS-H
Practicality
BodyCrossoverCrossover
Seats55
Boot451 litres (better)380 litres
Length4,420 mm4,373 mm
Width1,825 mm1,824 mm
WeightFrom 1,474 kg–
Boot451 litres (hybrid) or 348 litres (plug-in hybrid) with the rear seats up; 1,445 or 1,342 litres folded per Kia UK's technical sheet380 litres (petrol), 370 litres (SHS-H and E5)
TowingKia UK's earlier technical sheet gives both hybrids 1,300 kg braked and 100 kg tow ball load; the current UK specification retains those figures for the plug-in hybridSHS-H: 750 kg unbraked; not rated for the petrol or E5
Size4,420 mm long, 1,825 mm wide, 1,545–1,560 mm high depending on trim; 2,720 mm wheelbase; 10.6 m turning circle; Kia UK's earlier technical sheet gives 1,474 kg kerb weight for the hybrid and 1,594 kg for the plug-in hybrid4,373 mm long (4,447 mm SHS-H, 4,424 mm E5), 1,824 mm wide excluding mirrors (1,830 mm E5), 1,588 mm high; 2,610 mm wheelbase (2,630 mm E5); 140 mm ground clearance
Tech and safety
InfotainmentKia UK lists 10.25-inch touchscreen navigation as standard on the current plug-in hybrid; its 2023 brochure lists an 8-inch display on grade 2 and a 10.25-inch navigation display on grades 3 and 4; head-up display on grade 4–
Driver assistanceRemote Smart Parking Assist on grade 416 driver-assistance systems including adaptive cruise control, emergency lane keeping, blind spot indicator, driver monitoring, forward collision warning with autonomous emergency braking and rear cross traffic alert
Warranty7 years or 100,000 miles7 years or 100,000 miles; 8 years for the E5 battery

More comparisons