Omoda Omoda 5 vs Peugeot Peugeot 408
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OmodaOmoda 5 | PeugeotPeugeot 408 | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | August 2024 | 2023 |
| Performance | ||
| Powertrain | Petrol, Hybrid, Electric | Hybrid, Plug-in hybrid, Electric |
| Power | 145–221 bhp | 143–237 bhp (better) |
| 0–62 mph | 7.2–10.1 s (better) | 7.5–10.2 s |
| Top speed | 106–121 mph | 99–145 mph (better) |
| Engine or motors | 1.6-litre turbo petrol, 147 PS; 1.5-litre turbo petrol full hybrid (SHS-H) with two electric motors and a 1.8 kWh battery, 224 PS; E5 electric motor, 211 PS; bhp converted from PS | Hybrid 145: 1.2-litre three-cylinder turbo petrol (136 hp, 100 kW) with a 21 hp (15.6 kW) motor in the gearbox; Plug-in Hybrid 240: 1.6-litre turbo petrol with a front electric motor, 240 hp per Peugeot UK's price list (its technical table still gives a 179 hp engine, 125 hp motor and 221 hp (165 kW) combined, so treat the performance figures with care); E-408: front motor, 213 hp (157 kW). bhp converted from Peugeot's hp (PS) and kW figures |
| Torque | 275 Nm (petrol), 295 Nm (SHS-H), 288 Nm (E5) | 230 Nm (Hybrid 145 engine), 360 Nm combined (Plug-in Hybrid, per the technical table), 343 Nm (E-408) |
| Gearbox | 7-speed dual-clutch automatic (petrol), 1-speed DHT (SHS-H), single-speed (E5) | 6-speed dual-clutch automatic e-DSC6 (Hybrid), 7-speed dual-clutch automatic e-DSC7 (Plug-in Hybrid), single-speed automatic (E-408) |
| Drive | Front-wheel drive | Front-wheel drive |
| Range and charging | ||
| Zero-emission range (WLTP) | 267 miles | 50–283 miles (better) |
| Battery | – | 16.2–58 kWh |
| Economy (WLTP) | – | 58.8–123.8 mpg |
| Range detail | E5: 267 miles WLTP | E-408: 283 miles WLTP (Allure and GT; 281 miles GT Premium); 58 kWh battery (Peugeot doesn't say how much is usable); 144–177 Wh/km. Plug-in Hybrid: 16.2 kWh battery, 48–52 miles combined electric range (50 miles EAER in the price list) |
| Charging | E5: 61 kWh battery (usable capacity not stated); 30–80% DC charge in 28 minutes | E-408: 7.4 kW on-board charger; Peugeot UK doesn't give a DC charging rate. Plug-in Hybrid: 3.7 kW on-board charger (Allure and GT), 7.4 kW (GT Premium) |
| Efficiency | Maker-quoted fuel economy: 31.1 mpg (petrol), 52.2 mpg (SHS-H); test cycle not stated | WLTP combined: 47.9–58.8 mpg (Hybrid 145), 92.7–123.8 mpg (Plug-in Hybrid); E-408 144–177 Wh/km |
| CO2 emissions | 0–168 g/km (WLTP); 120 g/km for the SHS-H | 108–133 g/km (Hybrid 145), 52–69 g/km (Plug-in Hybrid), 0 g/km (E-408), WLTP combined |
| Practicality | ||
| Body | Crossover | Crossover |
| Seats | 5 | 5 |
| Boot | 380 litres | 536 litres (better) |
| Length | 4,373 mm | 4,687 mm |
| Weight | – | From 1,463 kg |
| Width | 1,824 mm | – |
| Boot | 380 litres (petrol), 370 litres (SHS-H and E5) | 536 litres VDA (471 plug-in hybrid and E-408; 508 and 454 with the Focal hi-fi) with the seats up; 1,611 litres (1,545 plug-in hybrid and E-408) with the rear seats folded; fuel tank 52 litres (hybrid) or 40 litres (plug-in hybrid) |
| Towing | SHS-H: 750 kg unbraked; not rated for the petrol or E5 | 1,300 kg braked (Hybrid 145 and Plug-in Hybrid); no towing figure for the E-408 |
| Size | 4,373 mm long (4,447 mm SHS-H, 4,424 mm E5), 1,824 mm wide excluding mirrors (1,830 mm E5), 1,588 mm high; 2,610 mm wheelbase (2,630 mm E5); 140 mm ground clearance | 4,687 mm long, 2,062 mm wide with mirrors out (1,859 mm folded), 1,485 mm high; 2,787 mm wheelbase; kerb weight 1,463 kg (Hybrid 145), 1,696 kg (Plug-in Hybrid), 1,806 kg (E-408) |
| Tech and safety | ||
| Infotainment | – | 10-inch HD touchscreen with virtual i-Toggles; 10-inch head-up digital instrument panel (3D on GT Premium) |
| Driver assistance | 16 driver-assistance systems including adaptive cruise control, emergency lane keeping, blind spot indicator, driver monitoring, forward collision warning with autonomous emergency braking and rear cross traffic alert | Adaptive cruise control with Stop and Go, Lane Keeping Assist, video-radar emergency braking and extended traffic sign recognition as standard; long-range blind-spot detection (up to 75 m) available |
| Warranty | 7 years or 100,000 miles; 8 years for the E5 battery | – |

