Omoda Omoda 5 vs Toyota Aygo X
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| OmodaOmoda 5 | ToyotaAygo X | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | August 2024 | December 2025 |
| Performance | ||
| Powertrain | Petrol, Hybrid, Electric | Hybrid |
| Power | 145–221 bhp (better) | 114 bhp |
| 0–62 mph | 7.2–10.1 s (better) | 9.2 s |
| Top speed | 106–121 mph (better) | 106 mph |
| Engine or motors | 1.6-litre turbo petrol, 147 PS; 1.5-litre turbo petrol full hybrid (SHS-H) with two electric motors and a 1.8 kWh battery, 224 PS; E5 electric motor, 211 PS; bhp converted from PS | 1.5-litre three-cylinder petrol (M15A-FXE), 90 bhp (91 DIN hp, 68 kW) at 5,500 rpm, with a 59 kW electric motor/generator; total system output 114 bhp (116 DIN hp, 85 kW); lithium-ion hybrid battery, 48 cells, 177.6 V, 4.3 Ah |
| Torque | 275 Nm (petrol), 295 Nm (SHS-H), 288 Nm (E5) | 120 Nm (engine) at 3,600 rpm; 141 Nm (electric motor) |
| Gearbox | 7-speed dual-clutch automatic (petrol), 1-speed DHT (SHS-H), single-speed (E5) | e-CVT automatic |
| Drive | Front-wheel drive | Front-wheel drive |
| Range and charging | ||
| Economy (WLTP) | – | 74.3 mpg |
| Zero-emission range (WLTP) | 267 miles | – |
| Range detail | E5: 267 miles WLTP | – |
| Charging | E5: 61 kWh battery (usable capacity not stated); 30–80% DC charge in 28 minutes | – |
| Efficiency | Maker-quoted fuel economy: 31.1 mpg (petrol), 52.2 mpg (SHS-H); test cycle not stated | WLTP combined: 72.4–74.3 mpg by grade (Toyota UK press specifications, February 2026); the Toyota UK spec page lists 70.6–74.3 mpg; 30-litre fuel tank |
| CO2 emissions | 0–168 g/km (WLTP); 120 g/km for the SHS-H | 87 g/km (WLTP combined) |
| Practicality | ||
| Body | Crossover | Crossover |
| Seats | 5 (better) | 4 |
| Boot | 380 litres (better) | 231 litres |
| Length | 4,373 mm | 3,776 mm |
| Width | 1,824 mm | 1,740 mm |
| Weight | – | From 1,090 kg |
| Boot | 380 litres (petrol), 370 litres (SHS-H and E5) | 231 litres (VDA) to the tonneau cover, 269 litres to the roof; 545 litres with the rear seats folded to the tonneau, 829 litres to the roof |
| Towing | SHS-H: 750 kg unbraked; not rated for the petrol or E5 | Not rated for towing |
| Size | 4,373 mm long (4,447 mm SHS-H, 4,424 mm E5), 1,824 mm wide excluding mirrors (1,830 mm E5), 1,588 mm high; 2,610 mm wheelbase (2,630 mm E5); 140 mm ground clearance | 3,776 mm long, 1,740 mm wide, 1,525 mm high; 2,430 mm wheelbase; 5.0 m turning radius (body), 4.7 m (tyres); drag coefficient 0.31; kerb weight 1,090–1,110 kg (Icon, Toyota UK site), 1,095–1,175 kg across the range (press specifications); gross weight 1,510 kg |
| Tech and safety | ||
| Infotainment | – | 9-inch Toyota Touch multimedia with wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto (Icon, Design); 10.5-inch Toyota Smart Connect (Excel, GR Sport); 7-inch digital driver's display; JBL audio optional on Excel |
| Driver assistance | 16 driver-assistance systems including adaptive cruise control, emergency lane keeping, blind spot indicator, driver monitoring, forward collision warning with autonomous emergency braking and rear cross traffic alert | Toyota Safety Sense: Pre-Collision System with pedestrian and cyclist detection and Emergency Steering Assist, Full Range Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Trace Assist, Road Sign Assist with speed limiter, Emergency Driving Stop System, Proactive Driving Assist, Automatic High Beam, driver monitoring camera; reversing camera on all grades |
| Warranty | 7 years or 100,000 miles; 8 years for the E5 battery | 3 years or 60,000 miles; up to 10 years or 100,000 miles with Toyota servicing |

