Honor Magic5 Pro vs Honor Magic6 Pro
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| HonorMagic5 Pro | HonorMagic6 Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | March 2023 | January 2024 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.81″ | 6.8″ |
| Resolution | 2848 × 1312 (better) | 2800 × 1280 |
| Sharpness | 460 pixels per inch (better) | 453 pixels per inch |
| Panel | LTPO OLED | LTPO OLED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Peak brightness | 1,800 nits | 5,000 nits (better) |
| Display type | Quad-curved OLED; 1.07 billion colours, 20:9 aspect ratio and 92.33% screen-to-body ratio | Quad-curved OLED; 1.07 billion colours; 19.69:9 aspect ratio |
| Pixel density | 461 ppi | 453 ppi |
| Brightness detail | 1,800 nits maker laboratory peak | 5,000 nits HDR peak and 1,600 nits all-screen peak, maker laboratory figures |
| Always-on display | – | All-round always-on display with messages and incoming-call notifications |
| Screen protection | – | HONOR NanoCrystal Shield; SGS five-star glass drop-resistance certification |
| Display features | 1–120 Hz LTPO, up to 2,160 Hz PWM dimming in low brightness, dynamic dimming and circadian night display; TÜV Rheinland Circadian Friendly certification; discrete display chipset | 1–120 Hz adaptive LTPO; 4,320 Hz PWM dimming at low brightness, dynamic dimming, circadian mode and Natural Tone; TÜV Rheinland Full Care, Circadian Friendly and Flicker Free certifications |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 8 Gen 2 | Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 |
| Memory | 12 GB | 12 GB |
| Storage | 512 GB | 512 GB |
| CPU | Octa-core (one Cortex-X3 at 3.19 GHz, two Cortex-A715 at 2.8 GHz, two Cortex-A710 at 2.8 GHz, three Cortex-A510 at 2.0 GHz) | Octa-core (one Cortex-X4 at 3.3 GHz, three Cortex-A720 at 3.2 GHz, two Cortex-A720 at 3.0 GHz, two Cortex-A520 at 2.3 GHz) |
| GPU | Adreno 740 | Adreno 750 |
| Storage type | UK factory 12 GB / 512 GB; LPDDR5X and UFS 4.0 identified by TechRadar; no expansion (Tech Advisor) | UK factory 12 GB / 512 GB pair; no expansion (Tech Advisor). Maker pair controls over Tech Advisor's conflicting 16 GB prose and 12 GB table. |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Telephoto camera | 50 MP | 180 MP |
| Optical zoom | 3.5× (better) | 2.5× |
| Front camera | 12 MP | 50 MP (better) |
| Main camera | 50 MP, 1/1.12-inch sensor, eight-element lens, f/1.6 and OIS; 2.8 µm equivalent four-in-one pixels | 50 MP, 1/1.3-inch sensor, f/1.4–f/2.0 adjustable aperture and OIS |
| Ultra wide camera | 50 MP f/2.0, 122° field of view and 2.5 cm macro | 50 MP f/2.0, 122° field of view and 2.5 cm macro |
| Telephoto camera | 50 MP periscope, f/3.0, OIS and 30 cm nearest macro focus | 180 MP periscope, 1/1.49-inch sensor, f/2.6 and OIS |
| Front camera | 12 MP f/2.4, 100° field of view and AI anti-distortion, plus 3D depth camera | 50 MP f/2.0 autofocus, 90° field of view, plus 3D depth-sensing camera |
| Zoom | 3.5x optical and up to 100x digital zoom | 2.5x optical and up to 100x digital zoom |
| Video recording | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 at 60 fps, OIS plus EIS; ultrawide limited to 4K30 (Tech Advisor); 15-minute 4K recording limit reported by TechRadar | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 at 60 fps; OIS plus EIS |
| Front video | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160; 30 fps confirmed by Tech Advisor | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 |
| Camera features | Eight-by-eight dTOF laser focusing, flicker sensor and multi-spectrum colour-temperature sensor; AI Motion Sensing Capture, AI photography, aperture mode, multi-video, night, portrait, pro, panorama, document scan, high-resolution, super macro, time-lapse and slow motion | AI Motion Sensing Capture, AI photography, aperture control, multi-video, night, portrait, pro, panorama, document scan, high-resolution, super macro, time-lapse, slow motion, light painting and HDR |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 5,100 mAh | 5,600 mAh (better) |
| Wired charging | Up to 66 W | Up to 80 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | Up to 50 W | Up to 66 W (better) |
| Battery life detail | UK 5,100 mAh typical, 5,000 mAh rated lithium-polymer; main hardware follows the UK specification rather than an imported regional configuration | 5,600 mAh typical, 5,500 mAh rated lithium-polymer silicon-carbon battery; HONOR E1 power-management chip |
| Wired charging | 66 W HONOR SuperCharge, up to 11 V/6 A; compatible with 10 V/4 A, 10 V/2.25 A and 10 V/2 A | 80 W HONOR SuperCharge, up to 20 V/4 A; compatible with 11 V/6 A, 10 V/4 A, 10 V/2.25 A, 5 V/4.5 A and 9 V/2 A. Maker rating controls over Tech Advisor's 100 W claim. |
| Wireless charging | Up to 50 W Wireless SuperCharge; charging base sold separately | Up to 66 W Wireless SuperCharge; compatible charging base sold separately |
| Charges other devices | OTG reverse power supply up to 5 V/1 A | OTG reverse power supply up to 5 V/1 A; reverse wireless charging supported (Tech Advisor), wattage not specified |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 219 g (better) | 229 g |
| Thickness | 8.77 mm (better) | 8.9 mm |
| Height × width | 162.9 × 76.7 mm | 162.5 × 75.8 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 | IP68 |
| Materials | Glass and metal body described by Tech Advisor; matt Meadow Green and glossy Black backs | Black glass back, 229 g; Epi Green PU back, 225 g. Main weight and image show Black; aluminium frame described by Tech Advisor. |
| Colours | Meadow Green and Black in the UK; additional China colours are not treated as UK configurations | Black and Epi Green |
| Water resistance detail | IP68 static-water test at up to 1.5 m for 30 minutes with no more than 5°C water/device temperature difference; protection decreases with wear | IP68 laboratory test at up to 1.5 m static water for 30 minutes, water/device temperature difference no more than 5°C; resistance can decrease with wear |
| Biometrics | Fingerprint reader and secure 3D face unlock; optical in-display fingerprint sensor identified by TechRadar | Fingerprint reader and secure 3D face unlock; optical in-screen reader identified by Tech Advisor |
| Sensors | Gravity, infrared, fingerprint, gyroscope, compass, ambient light and proximity; infrared remote control | Gravity, infrared, fingerprint, gyroscope, compass, ambient light and proximity; infrared remote control |
| Speakers | Stereo with DTS:X Ultra | Stereo with DTS:X Ultra |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | MagicOS 7.1 based on Android 13; maker first China sale on 10 March 2023, UK sale on 28 April reported by TechRadar | MagicOS 8.0 based on Android 14; first China sales in January 2024, later UK/global launch |
| Software updates | Three Android OS upgrades and five years of security updates (Tech Advisor and TechRadar) | Four major Android updates and five years of security updates; maker UK buy page lists February 2024 to February 2029 security period |
| AI features | AI Privacy Call 2.0, touch-free gesture controls and discrete dual-TEE security chipset; MagicRing and Magic Text described by TechRadar | Magic Portal drag-and-drop across apps, AI Privacy Call, HONOR C1+ RF chip and S1 discrete security chip; Magic Capsule and Magic Ring described by Tech Advisor |
| In the box | Phone with battery, HONOR SuperCharge adapter, USB-C cable, protective cover depending on market, quick-start guide, SIM eject tool, regional warranty card and pre-attached protective film | Phone with battery, USB-C cable, quick-start guide, SIM eject tool, regional warranty card and pre-attached protective film; no charger |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | 5G NR, LTE TDD/FDD, WCDMA and GSM; HONOR C1 RF enhancement chipset | 5G NR, LTE TDD/FDD, WCDMA and GSM; HONOR C1+ RF enhancement chip |
| SIM | Nano-SIM plus nano-SIM or eSIM; eSIM on the second slot of dual-SIM models only, depending on market/carrier | Nano-SIM plus nano-SIM or eSIM depending on market and carrier |
| Wi-Fi | Current maker UK sheet lists 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be, 2x2 MIMO; 2.4 and 5 GHz, hotspot and Wi-Fi Direct | Wi-Fi 7, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be, 2x2 MIMO; maker lists 2.4 and 5 GHz, hotspot and Wi-Fi Direct |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2, BLE; SBC, AAC, LDAC, aptX and aptX HD | Bluetooth 5.3, BLE; SBC, AAC, LDAC, aptX and aptX HD. Maker version controls over Tech Advisor's 5.4 prose. |
| NFC | Reader/writer and card-emulation modes; SIM-based NFC on SIM1 only, no peer-to-peer mode | Reader/writer and card-emulation modes; SIM-based NFC on SIM1 only, no peer-to-peer mode |
| USB | USB-C and OTG; generation not specified by maker UK sheet | USB-C with OTG; generation not stated in maker sheet |
| Positioning | GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou and Galileo; network and Wi-Fi positioning | GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou and Galileo; network and Wi-Fi positioning |
More comparisons
- Google Pixel 11 Pro vs Honor Magic5 Pro
- Honor Magic V6 vs Honor Magic6 Pro
- Honor Magic V6 vs Honor Magic5 Pro
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic5 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Lite
- Honor Magic5 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Lite
- Honor Magic V5 vs Honor Magic6 Pro
- Honor Magic V5 vs Honor Magic5 Pro
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra
- Honor Magic5 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic7 Lite
- Honor Magic5 Pro vs Honor Magic7 Lite
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic7 Pro
- Honor Magic5 Pro vs Honor Magic7 Pro

