Honor Magic6 Pro vs Motorola motorola edge 50 pro
Better figure, where one is clearly better
| HonorMagic6 Pro | Motorolamotorola edge 50 pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | January 2024 | April 2024 |
| Display | ||
| Screen size | 6.8″ | 6.7″ |
| Resolution | 2800 × 1280 (better) | 2712 × 1220 |
| Sharpness | 453 pixels per inch (better) | 444 pixels per inch |
| Panel | LTPO OLED | OLED |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 144 Hz (better) |
| Peak brightness | 5,000 nits (better) | 2,000 nits |
| Display type | Quad-curved OLED; 1.07 billion colours; 19.69:9 aspect ratio | Curved pOLED, LTPS backplane, 20:9 aspect ratio and 10-bit colour |
| Pixel density | 453 ppi | 446 ppi |
| Brightness detail | 5,000 nits HDR peak and 1,600 nits all-screen peak, maker laboratory figures | Maker specifies 2,000 nits peak; Notebookcheck measures 1,086 nits maximum with a full white screen and 1,453 nits in its APL18 test |
| Always-on display | All-round always-on display with messages and incoming-call notifications | – |
| Screen protection | HONOR NanoCrystal Shield; SGS five-star glass drop-resistance certification | Corning Gorilla Glass 5, confirmed by TechRadar |
| Display features | 1–120 Hz adaptive LTPO; 4,320 Hz PWM dimming at low brightness, dynamic dimming, circadian mode and Natural Tone; TÜV Rheinland Full Care, Circadian Friendly and Flicker Free certifications | 144 Hz refresh, up to 360 Hz touch sampling in gaming mode, DC dimming, HDR10+, 100% DCI-P3, Pantone colour and skin-tone validation, SGS low blue light and low motion blur certifications |
| Performance | ||
| Chip | Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 | Qualcomm Snapdragon 7 Gen 3 |
| Memory | 12 GB | 12 GB |
| Storage | 512 GB | 512 GB |
| CPU | Octa-core (one Cortex-X4 at 3.3 GHz, three Cortex-A720 at 3.2 GHz, two Cortex-A720 at 3.0 GHz, two Cortex-A520 at 2.3 GHz) | Snapdragon 7 Gen 3 with Qualcomm Kryo CPU up to 2.63 GHz |
| GPU | Adreno 750 | Qualcomm Adreno GPU; Notebookcheck identifies Adreno 720 |
| AI engine | – | Qualcomm Hexagon NPU |
| Storage type | UK factory 12 GB / 512 GB pair; no expansion (Tech Advisor). Maker pair controls over Tech Advisor's conflicting 16 GB prose and 12 GB table. | UK Lenovo model PB1J0096GB has 12 GB LPDDR4X and 512 GB storage; UFS 2.2; EMEA support also lists regional 8 GB RAM and 256 GB storage options; RAM Boost uses storage rather than physical RAM |
| Cameras | ||
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Ultra wide camera | 50 MP | 13 MP |
| Telephoto camera | 180 MP | 10 MP |
| Optical zoom | 2.5× | 3× (better) |
| Front camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Main camera | 50 MP, 1/1.3-inch sensor, f/1.4–f/2.0 adjustable aperture and OIS | 50 MP, f/1.4, 1/1.55-inch sensor, 1.0 µm pixels or 2.0 µm with Quad Pixel binning, omnidirectional PDAF and OIS |
| Ultra wide camera | 50 MP f/2.0, 122° field of view and 2.5 cm macro | 13 MP, f/2.2, 120° field of view, 1.12 µm pixels, autofocus and Macro Vision down to 3 cm |
| Telephoto camera | 180 MP periscope, 1/1.49-inch sensor, f/2.6 and OIS | 10 MP, f/2.0, 1.0 µm pixels, autofocus, OIS and 3× optical zoom |
| Front camera | 50 MP f/2.0 autofocus, 90° field of view, plus 3D depth-sensing camera | 50 MP, f/1.9, 0.64 µm pixels or 1.28 µm with Quad Pixel binning and autofocus |
| Zoom | 2.5x optical and up to 100x digital zoom | 3× optical telephoto, up to 30× Super Zoom for photos and 20× digital video zoom |
| Video recording | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 at 60 fps; OIS plus EIS | Main camera 4K at 30 fps or 1080p at 30/60 fps; HDR10 at 4K/30 or 1080p/30; ultrawide 4K/30 or 1080p/30; telephoto 4K/30 or 1080p/30/60; UK Lenovo sheet lists slow motion 1080p/120 or 720p/240 |
| Front video | Up to 4K 3840 x 2160 | 4K at 30 fps, 1080p at 30/60 fps and 1080p slow motion at 120 fps |
| Camera features | AI Motion Sensing Capture, AI photography, aperture control, multi-video, night, portrait, pro, panorama, document scan, high-resolution, super macro, time-lapse, slow motion, light painting and HDR | Laser time-of-flight autofocus, exposure/white-balance/flicker sensor, Pantone colour and skin-tone validation, Photo Enhancement Engine, Adaptive Stabilisation, Horizon Lock, autofocus tracking, Night Vision, RAW output, portrait, dual capture, long exposure and twist-to-open Quick Capture |
| Battery and charging | ||
| Battery | 5,600 mAh (better) | 4,500 mAh |
| Wired charging | Up to 80 W | Up to 125 W (better) |
| Wireless charging | Up to 66 W (better) | Up to 50 W |
| Battery life detail | 5,600 mAh typical, 5,500 mAh rated lithium-polymer silicon-carbon battery; HONOR E1 power-management chip | 4,500 mAh; Motorola states up to 40 hours under its mixed-use test conditions |
| Wired charging | 80 W HONOR SuperCharge, up to 20 V/4 A; compatible with 11 V/6 A, 10 V/4 A, 10 V/2.25 A, 5 V/4.5 A and 9 V/2 A. Maker rating controls over Tech Advisor's 100 W claim. | Up to 125 W TurboPower; charging rate depends on battery level and settings |
| Wireless charging | Up to 66 W Wireless SuperCharge; compatible charging base sold separately | Up to 50 W with Motorola TurboPower 50 W wireless charging stand, sold separately |
| Charges other devices | OTG reverse power supply up to 5 V/1 A; reverse wireless charging supported (Tech Advisor), wattage not specified | Up to 10 W wireless power sharing |
| Design | ||
| Type | Standard | Standard |
| Weight | 229 g | 186 g (better) |
| Thickness | 8.9 mm | 8.19 mm (better) |
| Height × width | 162.5 × 75.8 mm | 161.23 × 72.4 mm |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 | IP68 |
| Materials | Black glass back, 229 g; Epi Green PU back, 225 g. Main weight and image show Black; aluminium frame described by Tech Advisor. | Curved front glass with anti-fingerprint coating, sandblasted aluminium frame and vegan leather or pearl polymer rear |
| Colours | Black and Epi Green | Black Beauty, Luxe Lavender, Moonlight Pearl and later Caneel Bay UK model |
| Water resistance detail | IP68 laboratory test at up to 1.5 m static water for 30 minutes, water/device temperature difference no more than 5°C; resistance can decrease with wear | IP68; tested in up to 1.5 m fresh water for 30 minutes; resistance can decrease with wear |
| Biometrics | Fingerprint reader and secure 3D face unlock; optical in-screen reader identified by Tech Advisor | On-screen fingerprint reader and camera-based face unlock |
| Sensors | Gravity, infrared, fingerprint, gyroscope, compass, ambient light and proximity; infrared remote control | Proximity, exposure/white-balance/flicker sensor, time of flight, accelerometer, gyroscope, SAR and magnetometer; linear z-axis vibration |
| Speakers | Stereo with DTS:X Ultra | Dual stereo speakers, Dolby Atmos, Snapdragon Sound and Dolby Head Tracking with compatible moto buds+ |
| Microphones | – | UK Lenovo sheet specifies two microphones; EMEA support specifies three, with no regional explanation |
| Software | ||
| Operating system | Android | Android |
| Software at launch | MagicOS 8.0 based on Android 14; first China sales in January 2024, later UK/global launch | Android 14 with Hello UX |
| Software updates | Four major Android updates and five years of security updates; maker UK buy page lists February 2024 to February 2029 security period | Maker EMEA consumer support promises three years of OS updates and four years of security maintenance releases |
| AI features | Magic Portal drag-and-drop across apps, AI Privacy Call, HONOR C1+ RF chip and S1 discrete security chip; Magic Capsule and Magic Ring described by Tech Advisor | Photo Enhancement Engine and Style Sync AI wallpaper generation; Smart Connect links compatible Motorola and Lenovo devices |
| Safety features | – | ThinkShield, Moto Secure and Family Space |
| In the box | Phone with battery, USB-C cable, quick-start guide, SIM eject tool, regional warranty card and pre-attached protective film; no charger | UK Lenovo lists USB-C to USB-C cable, guides and SIM tool; Tech Advisor's UK review also includes a 125 W charger, while the maker's global launch notice describes the charger as sold separately |
| Connectivity | ||
| Mobile network | 5G NR, LTE TDD/FDD, WCDMA and GSM; HONOR C1+ RF enhancement chip | 5G bands n1/n2/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n26/n28/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78; UK Lenovo sheet also lists LTE, UMTS and GSM |
| SIM | Nano-SIM plus nano-SIM or eSIM depending on market and carrier | UK Lenovo sheet specifies nano-SIM plus eSIM; EMEA support lists a regional dual physical-SIM configuration |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be, 2x2 MIMO; maker lists 2.4 and 5 GHz, hotspot and Wi-Fi Direct | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax), 2.4/5/6 GHz and hotspot |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3, BLE; SBC, AAC, LDAC, aptX and aptX HD. Maker version controls over Tech Advisor's 5.4 prose. | Bluetooth 5.4 and Snapdragon Sound |
| NFC | Reader/writer and card-emulation modes; SIM-based NFC on SIM1 only, no peer-to-peer mode | NFC |
| USB | USB-C with OTG; generation not stated in maker sheet | USB-C, USB 3.1 and DisplayPort 1.4 in Lenovo's detailed maker sheet; its generic configuration table separately says USB 2.0 without explaining the discrepancy |
| Positioning | GPS, A-GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou and Galileo; network and Wi-Fi positioning | GPS, A-GPS, LTEPP, SUPL, GLONASS, Galileo and NavIC |
More comparisons
- Motorola motorola edge 50 pro vs Motorola edge 70 max
- Honor Magic V6 vs Honor Magic6 Pro
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Pro
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic8 Lite
- Motorola motorola edge 50 pro vs Motorola edge 70 fusion
- Motorola motorola edge 50 pro vs Motorola edge 70
- Honor Magic V5 vs Honor Magic6 Pro
- Motorola motorola edge 50 pro vs Motorola motorola edge 60 pro
- Motorola motorola edge 50 pro vs Motorola motorola edge 60
- Motorola motorola edge 50 pro vs Motorola motorola edge 60 fusion
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic7 Lite
- Honor Magic6 Pro vs Honor Magic7 Pro
- Honor Magic7 Pro vs Motorola motorola edge 50 pro
- Motorola motorola edge 50 pro vs OPPO Reno13 Pro 5G

