Apple Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (22-inch, ADC) compared with Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)
AppleCinema Display (22-inch, ADC)AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)
Overview
ReleasedJuly 2000April 2002
Display
Screen size22″23″
Resolution1600 × 10241920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)
Sharpness86 pixels per inch98 pixels per inch (better)
PanelLCD (Thin-film transistor active-matrix LCD; Apple does not identify a panel subtype in the original specification sheet read)IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)
Brightness (typical)180 nits200 nits (better)
Contrast ratio300:1350:1
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not identify the panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Viewing angles160° horizontally and vertically, typicalApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically
Pixel pitch–0.258 mm
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorApple Display Connector
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
Speakers–No
Other connectionsCaptive Apple Display Connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate display power cordCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hub, with support for Power Mac G4 Cube speakersTwo-port self-powered USB hub
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mount–No
Weight with stand11.4 kg11.5 kg
Size with stand588 × 479 × 210 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 310 mm (width × height × depth)614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake, brightnessSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with graphite bezelCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 77 W when operating; 35 W or less in energy saver modeMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less
Power supply28 V DC ± 1.5 V through ADC24.5–28 V DC through ADC
SoftwareRequires a Power Mac G4 or Power Mac G4 Cube with Apple Display ConnectorMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.

More comparisons