Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Dell UltraSharp U2414H

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with UltraSharp U2414H
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)DellUltraSharp U2414H
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002November 2013
Display
Screen size23″23.8″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)1920 × 1080 (Full HD)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch (better)93 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–60 Hz
Response time (grey to grey)–8 ms
Brightness (typical)200 nits250 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Colour range–96% sRGB
Colour accuracy (Delta E)–Below 4
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth16.77 million colours, according to Dell.
Response time detail–8 ms grey-to-grey with overdrive.
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontal and vertical.
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.2745 mm.
Calibration–Factory-calibrated to 96% sRGB with average Delta E below 4.
Connections
Video inputsApple Display Connector2 × HDMI 1.4, 2 × DisplayPort 1.2
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A4 × USB-A
SpeakersNoNo
HDMI detail–Two HDMI 1.4 inputs with MHL 2.0 support.
DisplayPort detail–One full-size DisplayPort 1.2 and one Mini DisplayPort 1.2 input; separate DisplayPort 1.2 output.
Daisy chaining–DisplayPort 1.2 MST output.
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubFour downstream USB 3.0 ports and one upstream port; one downstream port supports BC 1.2 charging.
Audio out–Audio line output; Dell specifies it is not for headphones.
Speaker detail–No integrated speakers; optional Dell Soundbar.
Design
Stand adjustsTiltHeight, tilt, swivel, pivot (better)
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg5.76 kg
Height adjustment–130 mm.
Tilt–6.5° forward to 22° backward.
Pivot–90° in either direction.
VESA pattern–100 × 100 mm.
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)539.1 × 185 × 355.8–485.8 mm (width × depth × height).
Size without stand–539.1 × 45.6 × 321.1 mm (width × depth × height).
Weight without stand–3.61 kg without stand or cables; main 5.76 kg includes stand and cables.
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control–
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel–
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less16 W typical; 74 W maximum with maximum luminance and USB active; below 0.5 W in standby and off modes.
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC100–240 V AC, 50/60 Hz.
In the box–Stand, cable cover, power cable, Mini DisplayPort-to-DisplayPort cable, USB upstream cable, calibration report and documentation.
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.–

More comparisons