Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Apple Thunderbolt Display

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with Thunderbolt Display
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)AppleThunderbolt Display
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002September 2011
Display
Screen size23″27″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)2560 × 1440 (QHD) (better)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch109 pixels per inch (better)
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–60 Hz
Brightness (typical)200 nits375 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Response time detail–Apple specifies 12 ms without identifying the transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontally and vertically
Eye care–Ambient light sensor automatically adjusts brightness
Pixel pitch0.258 mm–
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorThunderbolt
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A3 × USB-A
Ethernet–Yes
SpeakersNoYes
Webcam–FaceTime HD camera with microphone
Thunderbolt detail–Captive first-generation Thunderbolt input cable; two bidirectional 10 Gbps channels. Requires a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac, not a Mini DisplayPort-only Mac.
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped MacGigabit Ethernet (10/100/1000Base-T), FireWire 800 with up to 7 W power, downstream Thunderbolt port and Kensington security slot
Daisy chaining–Downstream Thunderbolt supports compatible devices and a second Thunderbolt Display where the Mac permits it. The port does not directly support Mini DisplayPort, DVI or VGA displays or adapters.
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; device charging can work without a host attached
Speaker detail–Built-in 2.1 speaker system with 49 W output
Webcam detail–FaceTime HD camera and microphone; Apple does not publish a megapixel figure in the specifications
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg10.8 kg
Tilt–Tilt adjustment only; no height, swivel or pivot adjustment (Macworld)
VESA pattern–Requires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)Current UK support specifications give 650 × 491 × 207 mm (width × height × depth). The original manual gives 651.7 × 488.1 × 208.13 mm and 10.7 kg rather than the support page's 10.8 kg.
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlBrightness and colour profile through macOS Displays preferences; no on-screen menu or physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 250 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 2 W or less. Apple environmental report at 230 V gives 108 W on at full brightness, 1.9 W sleep and 0.75 W off.
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADCInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop charging–Captive Universal MagSafe connector supplies up to 85 W separately from the Thunderbolt cable; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Original requirement OS X 10.6.8 or later and a Thunderbolt-equipped Mac. Announced 20 July 2011 with availability within 60 days; September sale month follows contemporary MacRumors reports of customer shipments, rather than the announcement date.
Certifications–ENERGY STAR 5.1; EPEAT Gold in the US and Canada
Warranty–One-year limited warranty and 90 days of telephone support
In the box–Thunderbolt Display, AC power cord and printed documentation

More comparisons