Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, ADC) compared with Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, ADC)AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)
Overview
ReleasedJanuary 2003April 2002
Display
Screen size20″23″
Resolution1680 × 10501920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)
Sharpness99 pixels per inch (better)98 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)
Brightness (typical)230 nits (better)200 nits
Contrast ratio350:1350:1
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Viewing angles170° horizontally and verticallyApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.258 mm
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorApple Display Connector
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
SpeakersNoNo
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped MacCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubTwo-port self-powered USB hub
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoNo
Weight with stand8.6 kg11.5 kg
Size with stand542 × 439 × 176 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 265 mm (width × height × depth)614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 60 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADC24.5–28 V DC through ADC
SoftwareMac OS X 10.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Apple UK confirms immediate availability on 28 January 2003. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Mac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.

More comparisons