Apple Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema Display (20-inch, DVI) compared with Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)
AppleCinema Display (20-inch, DVI)AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)
Overview
ReleasedJuly 2004April 2002
Display
Screen size20.1″23″
Resolution1680 × 10501920 × 1200 (WUXGA) (better)
Sharpness99 pixels per inch (better)98 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); IPS identification from Les Numériques' exact 2005 review)IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)
Refresh rate60 Hz–
Brightness (typical)250 nits (better)200 nits
Contrast ratio400:1350:1
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Response time detailApple specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions; not entered in the grey-to-grey row. Its later Japanese sheet lists 14 ms.–
Viewing anglesOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.Apple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.258 mm
Connections
Video inputsDVIApple Display Connector
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
Speakers–No
Other connectionsCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slotCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computerTwo-port self-powered USB hub
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountYesNo
Weight with stand6.6 kg11.5 kg
VESA patternOptional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 C–
Size with stand471 × 410 × 174 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specifications614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)
ControlsSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferencesSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness control
ColoursAluminium enclosureCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 65 W; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or less
Power supplyExternal A1096 65 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC output24.5–28 V DC through ADC
SoftwareApple's UK announcement specifies July 2004 availability. Original manual supports Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later on listed DVI Macs, with compatible DVI-equipped Windows PCs also possible. Original manual explicitly specifies 1680 × 1050 at 60 Hz and 20.1-inch viewable diagonal. Main weight follows archived maker specs (6.6 kg); original manual gives 6.3 kg without explaining the discrepancy.Mac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.
In the boxDisplay with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning cloth–

More comparisons