Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with Cinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, DVI)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002July 2004
Display
Screen size23″23″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch98 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD’s exact aluminium 23-inch datasheet, which lists later panel specifications)
Refresh rate–60 Hz
Brightness (typical)200 nits270 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:1400:1
Screen finishMatteMatte
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depth
Response time detail–Apple specifies typical 16 ms without identifying grey-to-grey transitions; not entered in the grey-to-grey row. Its later Japanese sheet lists 14 ms.
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and verticallyOriginal archived Apple specifications give 170° horizontally and vertically; a later Japanese sheet gives 178°.
Pixel pitch0.258 mm0.258 mm
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorDVI
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A2 × USB-A
SpeakersNo–
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped MacCaptive DVI, USB 2.0, FireWire 400 and DC power cables; two downstream FireWire 400 ports and Kensington security slot
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubTwo-port self-powered USB 2.0 hub; upstream USB cable must connect to computer
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg7.03 kg
VESA pattern–Optional Cinema Display VESA Mount Adapter Kit; VESA FDMI MIS-D 100 C
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)536 × 450 × 187 mm (width × height × depth), from Apple's archived technical specifications
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlSide power and brightness buttons; resolution and colour settings through Mac OS X Displays preferences
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelAluminium enclosure
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 90 W; energy saver mode 3 W or less
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADCExternal A1097 90 W adaptor; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz; 24.5 V DC output
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Apple's UK announcement specifies July 2004 availability. Original manual supports Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later on listed DVI Macs, with compatible DVI-equipped Windows PCs also possible. Original manual explicitly specifies 1920 × 1200 at 60 Hz. Main weight follows archived maker specs (7.03 kg); original manual gives 6.75 kg without explaining the discrepancy.
In the box–Display with captive connection cables, power adaptor, AC cord and cleaning cloth

More comparisons