Apple Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) vs Apple LED Cinema Display (24-inch)

Every spec side by side, from each maker's published figures.

Better figure, where one is clearly better

Cinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC) compared with LED Cinema Display (24-inch)
AppleCinema HD Display (23-inch, ADC)AppleLED Cinema Display (24-inch)
Overview
ReleasedApril 2002November 2008
Display
Screen size23″24″
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)
Sharpness98 pixels per inch (better)94 pixels per inch
PanelIPS (TFT active-matrix LCD (Apple); S-IPS identification from PRAD's exact ADC model datasheet)IPS
Refresh rate–60 Hz
Brightness (typical)200 nits330 nits (better)
Contrast ratio350:11,000:1
Screen finishMatteGlossy
ShapeFlatFlat
Colour depthUp to 16.7 million colours; Apple does not specify panel bit depthUp to 16.7 million colours; panel bit depth is not specified. Macworld UK identifies an H-IPS LG-Philips LM240WU6-SDA1 panel; Apple describes TFT LCD without naming the IPS subtype.
Response time detail–Typical 14 ms without a specified transition; omitted from the grey-to-grey row
Viewing anglesApple's March 2002 announcement says 160°; its January 2003 technology overview and original archived store page say 170° horizontally and vertically178° horizontally and vertically
Pixel pitch0.258 mm–
Connections
Video inputsApple Display ConnectorMini DisplayPort
USB-C chargingNoneNone
USB ports2 × USB-A3 × USB-A
SpeakersNoYes
Webcam–iSight camera with microphone
DisplayPort detail–Captive Mini DisplayPort cable; original manual requires the separate USB connection for audio, camera, microphone and hub functions
Other connectionsCaptive ADC connector carries digital video, USB data and power; no separate power cord for an ADC-equipped Mac–
USB hub detailTwo-port self-powered USB hubThree powered USB 2.0 Type-A ports; upstream USB cable required for data
Speaker detail–Built-in 2.1 system with 12 W output in the original A1267 manual
Webcam detail–Built-in iSight; maker specifications do not publish a megapixel figure
Design
Stand adjustsTiltTilt
VESA mountNoYes
Weight with stand11.5 kg9.5 kg
VESA pattern–Requires the separately sold Apple VESA Mount Adapter Kit
Size with stand614 × 488 × 187 mm minimum depth; maximum depth 280 mm (width × height × depth)Current specifications give 573.2 × 478.4 × 197.1 mm (width × height × depth) and 9.5 kg. Original manual gives 573.22 × 478.38 × 197.10 mm and 9.49 kg; the current rounded weight is retained.
ControlsSystem power, sleep and wake; display preferences launch button and software brightness controlResolution, brightness, colour profile and calibration through Mac OS X Displays preferences; no physical image controls (Macworld)
ColoursCrystal-clear acrylic enclosure with silver bezelAluminium enclosure with black glass bezel
Power and support
Power useMaximum 70 W when operating; energy saver mode 3 W or lessMaximum 212 W while charging a MacBook Pro; energy saver 1 W or less
Power supply24.5–28 V DC through ADCInternal power supply; 100–240 V AC, 50–60 Hz
Laptop charging–Separate captive universal MagSafe charging connector; no USB-C power delivery
SoftwareMac OS X 10.1.3 or Mac OS 9.2.2 or later; specified Power Mac G4 graphics cards, or DVI-equipped PowerBook G4 with Apple DVI to ADC Adapter. Native refresh is not specified in the read original Apple documentation; PRAD lists 60 Hz, not promoted into the main row.Original requirement MacBook, MacBook Air or MacBook Pro with Mini DisplayPort. October 2008 announcement specifies November availability.
Certifications–ENERGY STAR 4.0; EPEAT Gold
In the box–Display, AC power cord, cleaning cloth and printed documentation

More comparisons